The MPOJC Urbanized Area Policy Board includes representatives from all governmental units included in the Iowa City Urbanized Area as defined by the U.S. Census. Also included are representatives from the City of North Liberty and the City of Tiffin. The number of representatives is roughly proportional to population, although Iowa City is limited to six members so they do not have a majority of the Board. All representatives are elected officials, except for the University of Iowa's which is appointed by the president of the University. Federal transportation regulations mandate the Iowa Department of Transportation be included as a non-voting member.

The members of the Urbanized Area Policy Board receive MPOJC staff services in the following areas:

  • Transportation Planning