Rural Policy Board

The MPOJC Rural Policy Board includes representatives from all incorporated communities in Johnson County outside of the Iowa City Urbanized Area. Also included are two Johnson County supervisors, representing the unincorporated portions of the county. All representatives are elected officials. 

Planning assistance to small communities was provided directly by MPOJC staff until the mid-1980's. Since that time it has been funded by the communities but provided through an agreement with the East Central Iowa Council of Governments (ECICOG), a six-county regional planning agency which includes Johnson County.

Meetings of the MPOJC Rural Policy Board are held on an as-needed basis at least once a year.